The Hotchkiss Record









The Record was established in 1893 and is currently publishing with its 122nd Editorial Board. The Record currently serves 613 students and 124 faculty. Free copies are distributed on campus, and subscriptions can be mailed first-class at an annual cost of $25.

The Record was established in 1893 by Editor-in-Chief Charles Edmund Merril, Jr. ’94 and first started printing only six times in a school year. In 2018, 125 years later, The Record launched its digital presence under the CXX editorial board.  Notable alumni of The Record include Henry Robinson Luce and Briton Hadden, class of 1916, co-founders of Time Magazine, who served as assistant managing editor and editor-in-chief of The Record, respectively.

The Record is affiliated with the National Scholastic Press Association and the Columbia Scholastic Press Association. The Board welcomes letters and articles from readers. Letters should be addressed “Letter to the editors:” and must include the writer’s name. Those selected may be shortened for space. Send letters to [email protected] or through postal mail to the Hotchkiss street address.

The CXXII Record Editorial Board

Editors-in-Chief: Meghana Annamaneni ’21, Connie Cao ’21, Tina Deng ’21, and Reece Yang ’21

News Editors: Kiki Henry ’22, Sander Kuijs ’21, and Isabel Su ’22

Features Editors: Sydney Goldstein ’22 and Eric Jin ’22

Opinions Editors: Charlotte Urquhart ’21, Lily Yang ’21, and Michael Zhang ’21

Arts & Leisure Editors: Yihan Ding ’22 and Stephanie Ge ’22

Sports Editors: Margo Donohue ’22, Hannah Goldberg ’22, and Rachel Mokriski ’21

Photography Editors: David Li ’21 and Doug Wang ’23

Design Editors: Annie Xu ’22 and Arhan Chhabra ’22

Faculty Advisors: Ann Villano and Emma Wynn

The CXXI Record Editorial Board

President: Nicholas Lorentzen ’20


Online Editor-in-Chief: Jiahua Chen ’20

Digital Content Editors: Ally Fertig ’20, Alex McLane ’20, and Kavi Sarna ’21

Digital Media Coordinators: Justin Choi ’20 and Jerry Sheng ’20

Digital Sports Editors: Nick Hsu ’20 and Toby Pouler ’20

Digital Media Editor: Jeffery Zhai ’20

Social Media Manager: Julia Willett ’20


Editors-in-Chief: Charlie Knight ’20 and Maura Thompson ’20

News Editors: Meghana Annamaneni ’21 and Reece Yang ’21

Features Editors: Lucy Haswell ’20 and Tamsin Nottage ’20

Opinions Editors: Carter Moyer ’20 and Lily Yang ’21

Arts & Leisure Editors: Tina Deng ’21 and John Shin ’20

Sports Editors: Connie Cao ’21, Cyrus Farman-Farmaian ’21, and Lucas Mastrodomenico ’20

Photography Editors: David Li ’21 and Jerry Sheng ’20

Layout Editors: I Lok U ’20 and Annie Xu ’22

Distribution Managers: Arhan Chhabra ’22 and Yuka Masumura ’21

Faculty Advisors: Ms. Ann Villano and Ms. Emma Wynn

The CXX Record Editorial Board

President: Priyanka Kumar ’19


Digital Content Editors: Bea Kiggen ’19 and Alex McLane ’20

Digital Media Editors: Jiahua Chen ’20 and Nate Harris ’19

Sports Media Reporter: Sam Charlton ’20


Editors-in-Chief: Zoe Bank ’19, Harry Roepers ’19, and Gregoria Serretta Fiorentino ’19

News: Amanda Hill ’19 and Hannah Liu ’19

Features: Liz Koobatian ’19 and Tamsin Nottage ’20

Opinions: Justin Choi ’20 and Gemma Tung ’19

Arts & Leisure: Adalyn Ngo ’19 and John Shin ’20

Sports: Britney Douglas ’19, Charlie Knight ’20, and Maura Thompson ’20

Photography:  Jerry Sheng ’20

Graphics: Tina Guo ’19 and Amy Wang ’19

Design: Nicholas Lorentzen ’20

Faculty Advisors: Ms. Ann Villano and Ms. Emma Wynn